Wednesday, January 29, 2014

IPL Maximum Base Price command on Sehwag and Yuvraj

Thirty-one players, including India discards Sehwag and Yuvraj, and Australian Player Mitchell Johnson and Steven Smith, have attracted list the highest base price of Rs. 20 million ahead of the IPL player sale list, to be held on February 12 and 13 in Bangalore. 

Others who command the maximum base price comprise Aussies Brad Haddin and George Bailey, England player Kevin Pietersen, South Africa player Jacques Kallis, and Sri Lankan player T. Dilshan and Mahela Jayawardene. A total of 233 players from 10 countries will be up for auction to the eight franchises.

There are 46 Indians up for grabs. Those who have been valued at maximum base price Indian players are Dinesh Karthik, Praveen Kumar, Mishra, Ashish Nehra, Pragyan Ojha, Yusuf Pathan, Sehwag, Yuvraj, Saurabh Tiwary, Robin Uthappa and M Vijay.

The notable omissions from the players list among international players are Sri Lankan players Kumar Sangakkara and Dinesh Chandimal, Australian players Michael Clarke and Mitchell Marsh, England players Stuart Broad, Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler, and West Indies fast bowler Kemar Roach.

The present sensation, Kiwi all-rounder Corey Anderson, who hit the fastest ODI century recently, has a base price of Rs 10 million and will be eagerly sought after. England’s Pietersen, having not been retained by Delhi Daredevils, will be another prized pick, especially now that the ECB has provisions in its central contract that allow a player a window to play the IPL.

No Pakistan player, however, will be part of the auction, although 2 Pakistan-born players, Azhar Mahmood (Eng) and Fawad Ahmad (Aus), are in contention. Others of interest are Australian Brad Hogg, the oldest player in the auction at 43, and Sri Lankan spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, and the Netherlands’ Ryan ten Doeschate. New regulations state that all players will be paid in Indian rupees, while overseas players will be paid in the currency of their choice at the prevailing exchange rate.

Dinesh Karthik Praveen Kumar
Amit Mishra Ashish Nehra
Pragyan Ojha Yusuf Pathan
Virender Sehwag Yuvraj Singh
Saurabh Tiwary Robin Uthappa
M Vijay George Bailey
Brad Haddin Brad Hodge
Michael Hussey Mitchell Johnson
Brett Lee Shaun Marsh
James Pattinson Steven Smith
Mitchell Starc Alex Hales
Samit Patel Kevin Pietersen
Brendon McCullum Ross Taylor
Jacques Kallis Tillakaratne Dilshan
Mahela Jayawardene Angelo Mathews
Marlon Samuels
View My Stats